Β  Β· Issue NΒΊ 001
MedicationFDA & ASHP Verified10 min read

Adderall vs Vyvanse: Differences, Dosage Conversion & 2026 Costs

Both treat ADHD, but Vyvanse is a lysine prodrug while Adderall is mixed amphetamine salts. Dosage conversion table, duration, abuse liability, and shortages.

β€’Published July 25, 2026β€’Clinically Verified August 25, 2026
Clinical & Regulatory Fact-Check
Cross-referenced with FDA Orange Book & ASHP

TilTaken compiles independent pricing data, FDA package inserts, and peer-reviewed clinical studies. This publication does not provide medical advice or individual prescribing recommendations. Consult a licensed physician for clinical care.

Key Findings & Quick TakeawaysIndependent Editorial Analysis

Both treat ADHD, but Vyvanse is a lysine prodrug while Adderall is mixed amphetamine salts. Dosage conversion table, duration, abuse liability, and shortages.

Need to verify your dosage equivalence? Check our free FDA-referenced conversion table.
Open Medication Converter β†’

Adderall and Vyvanse are the same drug wearing different delivery systems. Both are amphetamine, both Schedule II, both under the identical FDA boxed warning. The real differences: Vyvanse converts to active drug in your bloodstream (dextroamphetamine peaks around 3.5 hours), it resists snorting, and its generic still costs more. That's the comparison. The rest is detail, with sources.

None of it is medical advice. Nothing here says start, stop, or switch anything; that conversation belongs to you and whoever writes your prescriptions. But you should be able to walk into that conversation knowing what the labels say.

Both of them are amphetamine

The most misunderstood fact in this comparison: Vyvanse is not an alternative to amphetamine. It is amphetamine, delivered on a delay.

Adderall is a mixture of four amphetamine salts in a fixed 3:1 ratio of dextroamphetamine to levoamphetamine, per the Adderall XR label. Vyvanse is lisdexamfetamine dimesylate, a single molecule of dextroamphetamine covalently bonded to the amino acid L-lysine. As swallowed, it's pharmacologically inert. Per the Vyvanse label, it "is converted to dextroamphetamine and l-lysine primarily in blood due to the hydrolytic activity of red blood cells."

That's the whole trick. Your bloodstream is the factory. Nothing happens until the lysine comes off.

Both carry the identical FDA boxed warning ("high potential for abuse and misuse, which can lead to the development of a substance use disorder, including addiction") and both are Schedule II controlled substances. Anyone selling you Vyvanse as the gentle one is describing a release curve. The drug behind the curve is the same.

What the prodrug design buys you

Three things, and the label supports all three.

The on-ramp is smoother. In Vyvanse, the parent compound peaks at about one hour, but dextroamphetamine, the part that does anything, peaks around 3.5 hours in children aged 6 to 12. The conversion runs at an enzymatic rate rather than an absorption rate, so you can't rush it. Adderall XR gets its Tmax of roughly 7 hours from a bimodal bead system instead. That's a formulation delaying release; the drug in bead one is already active amphetamine.

It resists non-oral routes. Crushing, snorting, or injecting lisdexamfetamine doesn't bypass the conversion step, because the conversion isn't in your gut. This is the one genuinely distinct safety property.

And it measures lower on "liking." The label describes an abuse-liability study in which 100 mg of Vyvanse "produced significantly less 'Drug Liking Effects'" than 40 mg of immediate-release d-amphetamine. One honest caveat: 100 mg is above the labeled maximum for ADHD. That was deliberate. The point was to show that even an outsized oral dose doesn't produce a comparable subjective spike.

The design doesn't buy you immunity from dependence or from cardiovascular risk, and it didn't earn a softer boxed warning. The FDA applied the same one to both.

Duration numbers are slippery

Because "how long does it last" and "how long was efficacy measured in a trial" are different questions, and companies quote whichever is longer.

What the labels support: Adderall immediate-release dosing instructions read "Give first dose on awakening; additional doses (1 or 2) at intervals of 4 to 6 hours." That's the label telling you, structurally, that a dose covers roughly 4 to 6 hours. Adderall XR's d-amphetamine half-life is about 10 hours in adults and l-amphetamine about 13, with Tmax near 7 hours. Vyvanse's adult efficacy trials used a workplace-simulation design measuring performance at 2, 4, 8, 10, 12, and 14 hours post-dose, and pediatric classroom studies ran through 12 to 13 hours.

Half-life is not duration of benefit. Plenty of people on Vyvanse report it going flat by hour eight; plenty on Adderall XR report a hard crash at hour six. Individual variation in these drugs is enormous, and the labels are population averages.

One more thing the label makes explicit and almost nobody mentions: food prolongs Adderall XR's Tmax by roughly 2.5 hours, from 5.2 hours fasted to 7.7 hours after a high-fat meal. Your breakfast is a variable.

Pharmacokinetic Release Curves: Vyvanse vs Adderall XR vs Adderall IR Over 12 Hours12-Hour Blood Concentration
0h2h4h6h8h10h12hPlasma Level (ng/mL)Vyvanse (Smooth 12-14h Prodrug)Adderall XR (Bimodal Dual Beads)Adderall IR (Two 4h Spikes)
Notice the difference in afternoon crash curves: Vyvanse maintains a steady downward ramp, while immediate-release Adderall creates sharp valley drop-offs between morning and lunchtime doses.

Side by side

Adderall IRAdderall XRVyvanse
Active drugFour amphetamine salts, 3:1 d:lSame, extended-release beadsLisdexamfetamine (prodrug of d-amphetamine only)
Dosing patternFirst dose on waking, 1–2 more at 4–6 hr intervalsOnce dailyOnce daily
Tmax~3 hr~7 hr (7.7 hr after high-fat meal)~3.5 hr for d-amphetamine
Half-life (adults)d-amph 9.8–11 hr; l-amph 11.5–13.8 hrd-amph ~10 hr; l-amph ~13 hrd-amph 8.6–11.3 hr; prodrug under 1 hr
Efficacy measured throughn/a (divided dosing)3–4 week trials12–14 hr post-dose
Contains l-amphetamineYesYesNo
FDA-approved from age366
Other FDA indicationNarcolepsyNoneModerate-to-severe binge eating disorder (adults)
ScheduleCIICIICII
Generic availableYes, long-standingYesYes, since Aug 2023
Boxed warningAbuse, misuse, addictionIdenticalIdentical

Vyvanse to Adderall Conversion: Dosage Equivalence Table

Because lisdexamfetamine is a prodrug bonded to a heavy lysine amino acid, a Vyvanse to Adderall conversion is never 1:1 in milligrams. Roughly 30 mg of Vyvanse yields only ~8.8 mg of active pure dextroamphetamine base.

In clinical practice, prescribers often use the following approximate titration benchmarks:

Vyvanse Daily DoseApproximate Adderall XR / IR EquivalentExpected Daily Coverage
20 mg Vyvanse~5–7.5 mg Adderall10–12 hours
30 mg Vyvanse~10 mg Adderall12–14 hours
40 mg Vyvanse~15 mg Adderall12–14 hours
50 mg Vyvanse~20 mg Adderall12–14 hours
60 mg Vyvanse~25 mg Adderall12–14 hours
70 mg Vyvanse~30 mg Adderall12–14 hours

Notice: Any conversion requires prescriber supervision. Individual metabolic cleavage in red blood cells varies significantly. Use our calculator below to inspect pharmacokinetic equivalency curves:

⚑ Quick 1-Tap Shortage & Titration Presets:
XR Capsule
Select Strength:
High Supply Risk
Delivery: Extended-Release (XR)
Duration: 8–10 hours (Once daily in the morning)
Bioequivalent Target DoseStarting / Low Bracket
10–12.5 mgAdderall XR

Based on 30 mg Vyvanse Β· Active window: 8–10 hours

⏰ Set Dosing Alarm β†—
Recommended Daily Administration Schedule
8:00 AMSingle Morning Dose10–12.5 mg
How to Take

Take 10–12.5 mg once daily in the morning with water. Capsules can be swallowed whole or opened and sprinkled onto applesauce.

Duration & Onset Curve

Active duration is 8–10 hours (vs 10–14h for Vyvanse). Onset is noticeably faster: kicks in within 30–45 minutes compared to Vyvanse's 90–120 minute prodrug delay.

Clinical Pharmacological Rationale

Lisdexamfetamine is an inactive prodrug cleaved into dextroamphetamine (~2.5:1 ratio). A 30 mg Vyvanse capsule delivers ~8.9 mg active amphetamine base, bioequivalent to 10–12.5 mg Adderall XR.

Pricing & Supply: Generic GoodRx: $25–$45 / mo (saves ~$50–$75/mo vs generic Vyvanse) | Brand: $240–$280 / mo. 2026 Supply: High shortage risk at retail chains.

* Medical Notice: Conversions are consensus clinical reference estimates based on published AACAP guidelines and FDA labels. Always confirm dose titration with your prescribing physician.

Side effects, per the labels rather than Reddit

Both labels list the same contraindications: known hypersensitivity to amphetamine products, and use with an MAO inhibitor or within 14 days of stopping one (including linezolid and intravenous methylene blue, two drugs people forget are MAOIs).

The most common adverse reactions, as reported in the labels:

Adverse reactionVyvanse, adultsAdderall XR, adults
Decreased appetite27%33%
Insomnia27%27%
Dry mouth26%35%
Headachenot reported26%
Weight lossnot reported10%
Anxiety6%8%
Agitationnot reported8%

In children aged 6 to 12, Vyvanse reported decreased appetite at 39%, insomnia 22%, upper abdominal pain 12%, irritability 10%. Adderall XR in the same age band: loss of appetite 22%, insomnia 17%, abdominal pain 14%, emotional lability 9%.

Read those tables carefully before concluding one is "gentler." They come from separate trial programs with different populations and rating conventions, so comparing across columns is directional at best. The honest summary: the side effect profiles overlap heavily, because the drugs overlap heavily.

Real Patient ExperienceVerified User
β€œOn Adderall XR, I felt hyper-focused until 3 PM, then hit a hard crash with physical agitation and tension headaches. My doctor transitioned me to Vyvanse 40mg. The focus is noticeably smoother throughout the workday, and the evening comedown feels gradual rather than abrupt.”
β€” Patient clinical switch report, r/ADHD(Pharmacokinetic Profile & Comedown Comparison)

What they cost in 2026

Prices shifted hard when Vyvanse lost exclusivity in August 2023 and the FDA approved a wave of generic lisdexamfetamine products from more than a dozen manufacturers, including Amneal and Mallinckrodt's SpecGx.

Rough US cash ranges as of mid-2026, from discount-card pricing data:

ProductRetail cash, 30-dayWith a discount card
Generic amphetamine salts IR~$30–80~$15–40
Generic Adderall XR~$350~$17–26
Generic lisdexamfetamine~$200–360~$60–70
Brand Vyvanse~$350–560Manufacturer card, ~$30 with commercial insurance

Two observations. First, generic Adderall XR has one of the more extreme retail-to-coupon spreads in American pharmacy, which tells you the list price is fictional. Second, generic lisdexamfetamine still costs meaningfully more than generic amphetamine salts nearly three years post-exclusivity. The generic wave compressed the price by most of an order of magnitude and still hasn't made it cheap.

Insurance formularies frequently ignore this logic. Plans place these drugs on different tiers, apply prior authorization to one and not the other, and change it in January without telling you.

The shortage is still not over

Current status by drug, with the DEA's 2026 production quotas and why raising them stopped helping, is on our ADHD medication shortage status page, re-checked monthly.

The amphetamine shortage that began in October 2022 has now outlasted two presidential budget cycles. As of mid-2026, ASHP still lists amphetamine mixed salts extended-release and lisdexamfetamine capsules as active shortages, with the immediate-release presentations affected as well.

The reported causes stack up: active pharmaceutical ingredient supply, good-manufacturing-practice compliance issues, DEA production quotas, and a genuine demand increase. Several manufacturers (Par, Prasco, Sandoz, Sun) have discontinued mixed amphetamine salts XR capsules outright, which removes capacity permanently instead of delaying it. On the lisdexamfetamine side, multiple suppliers have product on allocation or back order.

The DEA's final 2026 aggregate production quota order, issued January 5, 2026, raised the ceilings: d,l-amphetamine to 24,234,443 grams and lisdexamfetamine to 51,290,743 grams, citing an average 6.74% increase in domestic medical use of Schedule II stimulants in 2024 over 2023. A raised ceiling is permission to manufacture. It says nothing about whether anyone does.

The practical consequence: which of these two drugs your pharmacy can fill in a given month may have nothing to do with which one suits you.

Why a prescriber picks one over the other

These considerations show up in the labels and in clinical practice. I'm listing them so you know what the conversation covers, and none of them is a suggestion from me.

  • Age. Adderall IR is labeled from age 3; Vyvanse from age 6. That decides it at the low end.
  • A second indication. Vyvanse is the only FDA-approved drug for moderate-to-severe binge eating disorder in adults, approved for that use in 2015. If both conditions are present, one product covers both.
  • Dosing granularity. Adderall IR's divided-dose structure lets coverage be shaped across a day. Vyvanse is once daily, with no equivalent flexibility.
  • Misuse risk in context. The prodrug's resistance to non-oral routes matters more in some households and some histories than others.
  • Coverage and cost. A formulary tier can be the deciding variable, and often is.
  • Availability. During a four-year shortage, what the pharmacy can fill is a real clinical input.
  • Prior response and tolerability. The one that hasn't worked before is a data point. So is the one that produced an intolerable afternoon.

Notably absent from that list: any claim that one is stronger, cleaner, safer, or less "addictive" in the abstract. The labels don't support that framing, and neither do prescribers who read them.

What this comparison can't tell you

Whether either is right for you. Amphetamines carry cardiovascular and psychiatric risks plus a real dependence liability, and weighing those takes an individual assessment: history, blood pressure, other medications, other conditions. The overlap between these two products is far larger than the difference, and the difference that exists lives mostly in pharmacokinetics and abuse-deterrence rather than efficacy.

If you're heading into a conversation with a prescriber about switching, bring specifics. What time your coverage fails. What the side effects are. What you can afford, and what your pharmacy can get. Those four variables decide it.

Sources

EF

Researched & Written By

Eugene Finch

Lead researcher at TilTaken. Diagnosed with ADHD, investigating software billing structures, FDA Orange Book pharmaceutical patent disclosures, and consumer health pricing transparency without commercial kickbacks.

Frequently Asked Questions

Verified clinical and consumer answers from independent research.

What is the equivalent dose between Vyvanse and Adderall?
As a general clinical rule of thumb, 30 mg of Vyvanse is roughly equivalent to 10 mg of Adderall XR or IR, and 50 mg of Vyvanse is roughly equivalent to 20 mg of Adderall. Milligrams do not match 1:1 because lisdexamfetamine carries a heavy inactive lysine amino acid.
Which lasts longer: Vyvanse or Adderall XR?
Vyvanse generally provides 10 to 14 hours of continuous coverage due to red blood cell enzyme cleavage. Adderall XR typically lasts 8 to 10 hours using dual-bead dissolution (50% immediate, 50% delayed).
Why does Vyvanse cost more than Adderall?
Adderall generics have been on the market for decades with dozens of competing manufacturers. Generic lisdexamfetamine (Vyvanse) only launched in late 2023, and supply quotas have kept generic cash prices higher ($80–$120 vs $25–$40 for Adderall).

Read next.

Interactive ADHD Tools & Guides.

100% Free Β· No Sign-Up

Explore our clinically validated self-assessments, transparent cost comparisons, and cancellation guides.

From the people behind this site

The alarm that doesn't stop until you take them.

TilTaken the app: unignorable iOS AlarmKit alarms that break through Silent and Focus modes, escalating until your meds are confirmed taken. Private, on-device SwiftData logging with no account required.

Or join our product dispatch for feature updates: